Welcome to Avonworth, Mr. Zangaro!

Hannah Palmer, The Herd Staff

Coming to the middle school for the sixth graders is a whole different world and a new experience, but it is generally just a fresh start for the veteran teachers of Avonworth Middle School. This year however Avonworth has welcomed a few new staff members. The Herd will be highlighting the new staff of AMS this year.

The sixth grade teaching staff and students welcomed a new face this school year, Mr. Zangaro who is the new English teacher.

Hannah Palmer: When did you decide to become a teacher? Mr. Zangaro: I decided to become a teacher during my senior year of high school as I was deciding what I wanted my major to be in college.

HP: Why did you want to teach English?
Z: For me, English was always a really cool subject. Being able to express yourself through writing is an extremely important attribute to have, and I really want to help students achieve this.

HP: Where did you go to college and why did you choose that college?
Z: I went to John Carroll University in University Heights, Ohio. I was recruited to play football there, but that was probably the least important thing about the school. I absolutely loved the campus and the feeling I had when I visited the school. But most importantly, my brother lives about 10 minutes away from the school, so it was really nice having my best friend only a couple of minutes away.

HP: Why is teaching so important to you as an adult?
Z: Every single day I get the chance to have a positive impact on the lives of young people. I take great pride in this opportunity but also take great responsibility in it as well. It is my job to help young students reach their full potential, and I truly believe that is the most important job in the world.

HP: How does your profession affect people?
Z: My profession affects people in many different ways. Starting with the students, teachers introduce their students to new opportunities and help them reach their full potential not just as students, but as individuals. This in turn affects families and society as a whole because teachers are helping mold better educated citizens.

HP: What made you decide to become a teacher?
Z: I was very fortunate to have several teachers that have had a profound impact on my life. They steered me in the right direction when I needed guidance, and without them I would be where I am today. I hope that I can have that same impact on my students, even if it is just one.

HP: Who influenced you to become a teacher?
Z: Several people influenced me, but perhaps the most influential would be Pat Carey (my high school teacher) and my dad.

HP: Where did you student teach?
Z: I student taught at Robert H. Jamison in Cleveland, Ohio. The school was a part of the Cleveland Metropolitan School District. I loved it there.

HP: What has been your favorite part of Avonworth so far?
Z: My favorite part of Avonworth so far is how welcoming and kind everyone has been. From the faculty, to the students and community, each and every person has been so supportive.

HP: How do you feel coming to Avonworth everyday to teach middle school students?
Z: I feel like I am one of the luckiest people in the world. I know how fortunate I am to be in this position and I do not take a single second for granted. I have the amazing responsibility of helping improve the lives of Avonworth students, and I would not change it for anything.

HP: Are there any other grades you would like to teach, if so what?
Z: Right now I am just really enjoying the 6th grade! They are my favorite group of 6th graders I’ve ever taught!

IMG_1448-cropped
Mr. Zangaro, 6th Grade English Teacher
Tell us what you think!

